hello, I'm Zorine Te. I work hard to quietly deliver the best content in video games.

.

The premise: a review written in under five minutes. Because sometimes, you just don’t want to read the three page one.

_

Luke, I am your father..

.

Although I sort of have a self-imposed “do not review anything other then the newest of new releases” policy, I feel obliged as a friend who received this game for christmas to review it. That and I was quite impressed with this gift. Onto the review.

.

The Game

This is the first game of the Fallout series I have ever played. I don’t feel as though I’ve missed out on anything significant despite it being the third installment. The games can be played individually.

It is a sci-fi RPG. You create you own character, you do quests, you talk to NPC’s, you make dialogue choices, you level up, you pump points into stats and skills and you kill stuff.

.

It looks…

Nothing short of amazing. It was only released in 2009. My mid-range PC runs it smoothly and the landscapes are breathtaking. I also think it was a neat touch that they based some of the post-apocalyptic environments off of real geographic locations.

.

It sounds…

Bethesda (the developers) really went for a grand scale of epic here.

.

It plays…

There are three main things you will do in this game: talk to people, find shit, and kill shit. People who aren’t into reading a whole lot in their gaming time won’t like it. There is lot of dialogue in this game and a lot of choice making which makes reading the dialogue necessary if you wish to play it properly.

Combat isn’t as innovative as it is flashy but is still a lot of fun.

.

It lasts…

I get a feeling I’m about to devote 100 more hours of my life to this game. But only because I am a reader-gamer. Replayability will also make me play this game through another five times.

.

Final notes

For me one of the strongest selling points about this game was its storyline. Bethesda really went out of their way to conduct things in a less-then-traditional manner. For example, character creation is one of the first things you do – but don’t go expecting the usual spreadsheet smacked in your face.

I never was a fan of science fiction themed games but Fallout 3 has me sold in its story. I’m not leaving my house any time soon.

Leave a Reply

