hello, I'm Zorine Te. I work hard to quietly deliver the best content in video games.

A blessing or a curse?

.

It's a little buggy, but that amount sounds approximate.

.

It’s no secret I’m a hardcore gamer. With the recent introduction of networks like Steam, PSN and Xbox Live it seems the whole world can see how hardcore I really am, how many online friends I have, some of the games I buy and how long it’s been since I’ve logged off.

.

But do I really want the public to know I’ve spent over 40 hours on gaming in the last two weeks? Furthermore, do I want to know I’ve spent over 40 hours of gaming in the last two weeks?

.

I use steam a lot. I posted recently that I received Fallout 3 as a gift through the platform for christmas. It’s one of the first single player games I’ve had to access via steam. (I mean sure, there’s the ‘offline’ mode, but am I ever offline?).

.

This isn't me. Really.

This has a few benefits. For one I can still chat to friends whilst playing without alt-tabbing, which seems to crash my game. I can still access browsing the internet through steam’s in-built browser thingie.

.

And then my friends can see that I’ve spent 10 hours on it in the last 2 days since I got it.

.

I’ve noticed that I too have become something of a stalker via steam. For example, one of my mates is never OFFLINE. If he’s offline, then he’s not at home. Hmm, steam says he went offline approximately 7 minutes ago. Which means he’s probably on the road. Which means he’s probably on his way to my place right about now.

.

Or – better example – I know one of my friends has accumulated over EIGHT HUNDRED HOURS on Team Fortress 2. We never let him forget that we know.  Isn’t it kind of embarrassing?

.

So is it a good thing or bad thing that we can track each others gaming habits? Or do I simply want to deny that I spend that much time on gaming, instead of it slapping me in the face with a reality that doesn’t seem all too productive?

.

Comments on: "STEAM/PSN/Xbox Live and Stalking Your Friends Online" (1)

  1. Dont forget that they only brought out overall time tracking for L4D right when you started playing it less =P

Leave a Reply

