hello, I'm Zorine Te. I work hard to quietly deliver the best content in video games.

Source.

Apparently Tekken 6 was a huge disappoint to Tekken fans outside of the “hardcore” player base, amongst other things, as stated in this petition.

.

Strange. I’m a hardcore Tekken player and Tekken 6 was a disappointment to me too. A paradox?

.

I couldn’t help but laugh when I read the petition. Not only does the idea of character creation in Tekken repulse me (if you want to create an in-depth character so badly, play the Sims) but come across as more – dare I say it – whinging then anything else.

.

That’s not to say the petition doesn’t make valid points. It does. But it is the way in which said points are made which is funny. Lets take a look at the points brought up.

.


  • Scenario Campaign mode

Agreed.

This is the first inexcusable thing about Tekken 6. This is a fighting game not an RPG. Players who pick up a copy of Tekken 6 buy it under the pretense that they will be playing a fighting game. So why Namco why would you introduce an RPG mode complete with stats and drop ratios? It makes us feel so lied to.

.

  • Other ways to earn gold

Partially agree.

As a fighting game, I believe the primary way to earn gold in Tekken should be through fighting matches – not playing bowling, or whacking a beach ball around.

.

  • Ranking system and online play

Agreed.

Not all players are competitive or want to take the game seriously enough to rank up online. Not to mention online play with lag is insufferable. Bringing back the old rank up system from Tekken5/DR would be desirable.

.

  • Game play

Partially agree.

I agree that Tekken 6 is too reliant on juggles. However, I do not agree with the introduction of ‘guard breaker’ moves to stop “cowardly players from blocking all day” – THIS IS WHAT THROWS ARE FOR.  A juggle escape move limited to one use per round won’t solve the problem; juggles simply need to be shortened and their damage lessened.

.

  • Tag Team and other modes that should be in Tekken 7

Disagree.

Tekken Tag was the most perfect Tekken game ever made. Namco Bandai will never come close to achieving that kind of balance perfection ever again. Tagging should be exclusive only to Tekken Tag games, and that’s how it shall remain. Dojo creation is not a fighting game, it is a simulation. However, I do agree in bringing back some form of dojo levels rather to give the player a goal to reach, rather then fighting endless waves of ghosts.

.

  • Character creation and customisation

Disagree.

Umm, no.

.

  • Character creation description

Disagree.

This is why casual gamers are not taken seriously.

.

End note

.

I can’t believe how long the petition is. Although I agree that Tekken 6 was a disappointment to hardcore fans of the earlier titles, I don’t believe that the list of proposed amendments will improve the game. Also, pictures of girls in kinky Tekken cosplay does wonders for the petition’s credibility.

.

.

Comments on: "Casual fans petition for Tekken 7 to be “a better game”" (2)

  1. Jack Maker said:

    How many of you are out there who hate character creation in Tekken? I beaten Tekken 6 and bought all the customization items. After all the items are bought the game is completely boring. I don’t care if you hate character creation but I am for the mode. As long as there are no custom move sets everything will be okay. What is the problem with character creation? Oh yeah other games are not as fun as Tekken. I love Tekken but hate character customization.

  2. I dunno I consider myself a Non-Hardcore Tekken fan and i didnt mind 6, I think for every thing released there will always be a percentage of people who dont like it.

Leave a Reply

