hello, I'm Zorine Te. I work hard to quietly deliver the best content in video games.

I’m not sulking. Really. I’m not in a bitter mood.

.

So I have a group of close friends who I regularly game with. We all have our separate lives, meetup and hang out on the weekends, normal stuff. Most nights we chat to each other on steam and decide to play something together.

.

Until recently, when they all picked up Borderlands and I did not.

.

The tiny voice of peer pressure calls me.

.

I’m not really sure what’s stopping me. It looks like a nice game; cool visuals, a decent soundtrack, interesting game play. But it just doesn’t appeal to me. So they’re all busy playing, their Borderlands-related speak often being heard over our vent channel. I have no idea what they’re talking about but I don’t really care.

.

Right?

.

The thing is, I am a sociable person. I like talking to people and playing games with them even more. Sometimes single player just doesn’t cut it. You can’t crack jokes with AI. But I don’t want to play Borderlands!

.

Playing with strangers isn’t as fun either.

.

So it seems I have either one of two choices –

a) I cave in to peer pressure and join them in Borderlands

b) I ignore this new phase of theirs and continue solo

.

Regardless of whatever I choose, I have to say, peer pressure accounts for a lot of my game purchases. Peer pressure got me into World of Warcraft. Peer pressure got me into Left 4 Dead. Peer pressure got me into Team Fortress 2. I could go on. Never underestimate the power of peer pressure.

.

But this isn’t new. I passed on their Modern Warfare 2 phase and I shall pass this one too. Although I get a feeling it might last a little longer.

.

Leave a Reply

