hello, I'm Zorine Te. I work hard to quietly deliver the best content in video games.

Happy New Year everybody! Ah my, what a great year 2010 was. Especially for gaming. But as I look on to 2011 I spot an emerging trend – one that I do not necessarily like.

For the majority of games to be released in 2011 are comprised of sequels. Seriously. Look at the list and all I can see are the numbers. This may not be an entirely bad thing but… I was hoping for more new titles. Innovation! New! Shiny!

So thus far my eye for the big titles has been glued to:

  • Portal 2
  • Crysis 2
  • FEAR 3
  • The Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim (!!) – The ‘Goodbye Life’ edition
  • Infamous 2
  • Diablo 3
  • Half life 2: Episode 3 (A double dose of numerics!)
  • Dragon Age 2 – Goodbye life x 2
  • Bioshock Infinite โˆž (cheating a little but hey – still counts)

As for titles which are not direct sequels in some way of form that I am looking forward to –

  • I Am Alive
  • Duke Nukem Forever

Although even then Duke Nukem is tied to existing game content.

So I guess that just leaves ‘I Am Alive’.

There are always the Indie titles which serve as the pinnacle of creativity.

 

Despite what I say, its the sequels that always generate the most excitement. With an existing fanbase and content to draw upon it is easy to see why going down the road of a sequel may be more rewarding. From a developer perspective I’d be hard pressed to say that I would not do the same thing.

 

 

Comments on: "2011 – The Year of the Sequel" (2)

  1. oddgoo said:

    Are you by any chance attending the Independent Game Development Jam on February?

    http://blog.redpointsoftware.com.au/category/game-jams/tigjamoz/

    I enjoyed your Killing Floor review by the way =).

    • Hi Oddgoo,

      Hmm I don’t think I will be attending that one, for a number of reasons –

      1) It’s in Victoria, in a place that requires flights to and from
      2) A max of 15 participants

      I am however, keen for GameJam ’11!

      http://www.gamejamsydney.com/

      Been trying to put together another video review but not sure of which game I should look at. Thanks for watching!

Leave a Reply

